NATO: Hey guys, How are you all? I hope you all are doing well. Today I am welcome you all in our website on a very important topic. Today we are going to discuss about NATO (North Atlantic Treaty Organization) countries, it’s history, How it works? Member countries name and how a country can join it’s membership. So guys stay connected to this site to get more information about this topic.

What Is NATO?

The expanded for of NATO is North Atlantic Treaty Organization. North Atlantic Treaty Organization is a security alliance which consist 30 countries from North America and Europe. These countries border the North Atlantic Ocean. Fundamental goal of North Atlantic Treaty Organization is to safeguard the Allies’ freedom and security by political and military means. NATO remains the principal security instrument of the transatlantic community and expression of its common democratic values. It is a source through which the security of North America and Europe are permanently tied together. North Atlantic Treaty Organization enlargement has furthered the U.S. goal of a Europe whole, free, and at peace.

North Atlantic Treaty Organization

Member Countries

NATO consists 30 members. There are a total of 27 countries in Europe, one country in Eurasia, and only 2 in North America. The member countries includes Albania, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Montenegro, the Netherlands, North Macedonia, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Turkey, United Kingdom, and the U.S. Each member works as ambassador to North Atlantic Treaty Organization as well as officials to serve on NATO committees and discuss North Atlantic Treaty Organization business. The designees of North Atlantic Treaty Organization could be a country’s president, prime minister, foreign affairs minister, or head of a defense department.


How Does NATO Work?

North Atlantic Treaty Organization’s main motive is to protect the freedom of its members and the stability of their regions. Its mission include weapons of mass destruction, terrorism, and cyber-attacks. One key aspect of North Atlantic Treaty Organization is Article 5. This article states that “an armed attack against one Ally is considered an attack against all Allies but it does not means that North Atlantic Treaty Organization’s protection extend to members civil wars or internal coups.


The agreement among funding members of NATO signed the North Atlantic Treaty first time on April 4, 1949. It worked with the United Nations, the World Bank, and the International Monetary Fund. This organization was created in 1944 during Bretton Woods Conference. It’s primary purpose was to safe member nations from threats by communist countries. The U.S. also wants to maintain a presence in Europe. By this way North Atlantic Treaty Organization made the formation of the European Union possible. The U.S. military gave protection to European nations that needed to rebuild it after World War II devastation.

NATO And diplomacy

It is a defensive military alliance. I know that you are thinking that North Atlantic Treaty Organization is all about military action. But there is some other important step that comes first. NATO’s first priority is diplomacy. By talking to each other and with other countries, they try to solve conflicts without using force. In NATO, all the Allies work together and make agreements. NATO is not about military but in NATO military and non-military experts meet to exchange information about what is going in the world. By this way it prepares itself for the challenges and threats of current day and for the future days.

NATO And Other Countries In The World

NATO not only helps member countries but also to non member countries with their security. Example for help provided to non member countries may be helping to train their soldiers. NATO also send soldiers to deal with a crisis.

When Can A Country Join NATO?

It is not easy to become the member country of North Atlantic Treaty Organization. There are certain conditions or steps to become the member country. These conditions are as follows-
1) Firstly the country have to meet NATO’s three basic requirements. Only European countries and countries in North America can join NATO. This was decided when NATO was set up first time. The country must be democratic. And the country must contribute to security in the European-Atlantic region.
2) It is necessary that the country must take part in the Membership Action Plan. This means that country is assessed and given help with meeting NATO’s other requirements. These requirements have to do with freedom, human rights, democracy and the legal system. It means that reforms are needed in the country that wants to become member.
3) The country that wants to become member must agree to NATO’s aims, rights and obligations.
4) It is not enough that that the country complete the condition can become member. One another important condition for membership is that the existing member countries must agree to the country’s membership. All members sign a document called the accession protocol.
5) The country’s own people must agree for taking membership of NATO. This can be decided by parliament, or by holding a referendum.


I hope guys I am able to provide you lots of information about this topic. Still if you have any kind of query or suggestion regarding this topic then feel free to drop a message in the comment box. I will definitely resolve all your queries and will work on your suggestions.

Read also: Actress Alia Bhatt Biography
Read also: About PAN card


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.